Mekhela Chador, traditionally worn by women from Assam

4 Feb

kavita writes on rituals from assam in My room at blogspot. Enlarge her pictures for more Mekhla chadar.

:image credits:

5 Responses to “Mekhela Chador, traditionally worn by women from Assam”

  1. Vineeta February 10, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Ah! I’ve wanted to get myself a mekhla chadar for sometime now- Apart from the Kerala ‘Mumdum Neriyathum’ which is a 2 piece saree(if you can call it that), the Mekhla chadar is the only other quasi saree that is worn in 2 pieces, to my knowledge.

  2. anrosh February 12, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Yes Vineeta, I want to wear a MK. May be I will buy one when I am in Calcutta.

  3. Darshan February 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    I would love to gift one to my mother. But doesn’t chadar mean bed sheet, although dictionary.com also says that its a body wear.

  4. reynaldokarl August 31, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    About wearing her own this post i like it very much

  5. parkerhains August 31, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    About assam women waring information is good

Leave a comment